ROSATOM's Public Council involves civic organisations in the policy making process for nuclear power utilisation, environmental protection, nuclear and radiation safety. The Council works to:

  • raise public awareness of ROSATOM's core operations

  • involve civic organisations in nuclear policy making

  • encourage a dialogue on nuclear-related issues between academia, industry experts, public officials, environmental groups and prominent figures

  • improve communication with stakeholders

The Council includes scientists, members of civic and environmental organisations, and representatives from ROSATOM, all of whom participate on a voluntary basis.


Members of the Public Council

Anatoly Annenkov
General Director of FSBI Gidrospetsgeologiya, PhD

Sergey Baranovsky
President of the Russian Green Cross, Сhairman of the Russian Ecological Congress,
member of the Advisory Council of the Government of the Russian Federation,
Academician of the Academy of Natural Sciences, PhD, Professor (Deputy Chairman of the Public Council)

Natalia Davydova
Director of "Environmental Projects Consulting Institute" (Autonomous non-profit organizations)

Aleksei Ekidin
Senior Researcher of Institute of Industrial Ecology of the Urals Branch of RAS

Victoria Elias
Director of Nature Preservation Programs of the World Wildlife Fund

Igor Fomichev
Chairman of the Russian Union of Nuclear Power and Industry Workers

Lyubov Glebova
First Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on the Rules of Procedure and Parliamentary Governance

Vladimir Grachev
Advisor to the ROSATOM Director General,
Chairman of the Public Council with the Federal Nuclear, Industrial, and Environmental Regulatory Authority of Russia (Rostekhnadzor)

Viktor Ivanov
Deputy Director of the Russian Academy of Medicine Research Centre for Medical Radiology,
Chairman of the Russian Federation Commission on Radiation Protection,
Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences, PhD, Professor

Vladimir Kuchinov
member of the Central Board of the Nuclear Society of Russia

Alexey Likhachev
Director General of ROSATOM (Chairman of the Public Council)

Alexander Lokshin 
First Deputy Director General of ROSATOM (Deputy Chairman of the Public Council)

Valery Menschikov
Member of the Council with the Russian Environmental Policy Centre

Oleg Muratov
Executive Secretary of North-West Section of Russian Nuclear Society,
member of the Academy of Ecology, Safety of Human and Nature

Alexander Nikitin
Chairman of the Board of Bellona Ecological Foundation 

Vladimir Ognev
Chairman of the Interregional Public Movement of Nuclear Industry and Power Veterans

Andrey Polosin
Head of Department for Liaison with Regions (Executive Secretary of the Public Council)

Anton Ponizov
Head of the Division for Fuel Cycle Facilities Safety of Rostechnadzor (SEC NRS)

Aleksandr Samoilov
Director General of A. I. Burnazyan FMBC of Russia, M.D.

Igor Shpektor
President of the Union of Cities of the Subarctic and Russia’s High North,
Chair of the Commission of the Public Chamber of the Russian Federation on Community Services, Building and Roads

Yuriy Tebin
Chairman of the Nuclear Cities’ Socioeconomic Development Fund

Sergey Utkin
Head of Division of Nuclear Safety Institute of RAS, PhD

Albert Vasiliev
Chief Scientific Officer at the Dollezhal Research and Design Institute for Power Engineering, PhD

Andrey Vazhenin
Chief Doctor of Chelyabinsk Regional Clinical Oncologic Treatment Center,
Сorresponding member of Russian Academy of Medical Science
Honored Doctor of the Russian Federation, Мember of the Public Council of Chelyabinsk Region

Yan Vlasov
Chairman of the Public Council for Protection of Patients’ Rights at Roszdravandzor,
Co-chairman of All-Russia Union of Patients’ Public Organizations, PhD, Professor

Sergey Yudintsev
Corresponding Member of RAS,
Director of Radiogeology and Radiogeoecology Laboratory of the Institute of Geology of Ore Deposits, Petrography, Minerology and Geochemistry of RAS, PhD

Sergey Zhavoronkin
Secretary of the Public Council for Nuclear Safety in Murmansk Region

Olga Golovikhina
Adviser to Department for Liaison with Regions of ROSATOM,
Secretary of Board (Secretary of Board, without vote) 

Note: the composition of the Public Council is given for 2020.

Occupational safety

Disclosure policy